dreaming with my heart outstretched as if it were my hand

I’m looking with a pilgrim’s eyes upon some promised land,
And dreaming with my heart outstretched as if it were my hand,
And I’ll hit the cross Bronx just in time to beat the rush hour lock,
I’ve got no clue what time it is from this world’s busted clock.
I’m a stranger here
No one you would know.
I’m from somewhere else,
Well isn’t everybody though.
I don’t know where I’ll be
When the sun comes up.
Until then, sweet dreams,
Goodnight America.

-Mary Chapin Carpenter, “Goodnight America”

I don’t usually talk alot on this blog. I’m pretty content to let the photos and snippets of text do my talking for me. For 17 of the last 18 posts on this blog + this post, I’ve posted a photo from a different state/nation/DC that I visited in 2009

Road trips, travel and just setting out with a camera and car are more important to me than I can easily say. I’m a lady who loves to travel. And, for me, 2009 was a spectacular year for road trips: a drive to Connecticut, a drive to Tennessee, a drive to South Carolina, numerous drives to North Carolina, a grand loop around the southwest, one long drive straight across from Baltimore to San Francisco, and many smaller drives into Maryland, DC, Virgina, Pennsylvania and West Virginia.

In 2009 I saw: Maryland, DC, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, New Mexico, Colorado, Utah, Nevada, Arizona, Navajo Nation, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Iowa, Nebraska, Wyoming, and California. 24. 24 places and I have photos worth sharing from 19 of them.

And of every where I visited, one state completely amazed me time and time again. I saw spectacular things outside of the state of Utah this year, but the sum of a amazing beauty in that state was just awesome – from the Bonneville Salt Flats to the Glen Canyon Dam and everywhere in between. Utah made me realize with every minute why I set out year after year, road after road, searching and hoping and finding peace and promise in the curve of the road and the glint of the sun.

To those of you who were with me on one or more of the trips, thanks for the steadfast company. Here’s to many more trips and many more years full of as much excellent adventure as 2009. And if you are reading this and you’ve never been to Utah, it is absolutely amazing and worth a trip. Or many trips, much like in 2008 when I left Alaska knowing I’d be back for more, I’m already looking forward to my my next trip to Utah.

2 responses to “dreaming with my heart outstretched as if it were my hand

  1. brandnewkindof

    i will always sit in your passenger seat (and i will drive, too, when necessary). always.

    utah is one of the most beautiful places i’ve ever been, and i didn’t even see half of what you saw there.

Leave a Reply

