And they all look just the same



Pasta for the Week, 01/03/10, originally uploaded by Ash Crowe.

Last year, two friends of mine took pictures of everything they ate for a year (pictures here and here) and every time I’d look through the pictures I’d be amazed by the diversity because I eat just about the same thing every day: Peanut butter & jelly for breakfast, Safeway brand lean cuisine for lunch, meal prepared on Sunday for dinner, raisins before bed. I eat out for breakfast once every two weeks, lunch once every two weeks, and dinner once a week. And, excepting those times, probably 90% of the time my eating follows the same boring pattern. I’m the kind of person who doesn’t mind eating the same thing everyday and I grew up cooking in a 5-person house, so when I cook whatever I throw in, generally, comes out as enough food to feed 5 people w/ 1 helping of leftovers. So I cook on Sundays and pack it up and that is dinner for the week.
And what I cooked this week is my go-to meal, I could eat (and frequently have eaten) it every other week. But this year, in an effort to add a little more diversity to my diet, I’m going to try and post a recipe/picture of my dinner for the week. And hopefully that’ll shame me (a little) into not always cooking the same thing.

Go-to pasta dish (and yes, I know I should use homemade sauce, but the whole point is that everything in here are things I always have in the house):
5 chicken thighs, cut to pieces
4 cloves garlic,diced
1 can stewed tomatoes
1 jar pasta sauce
Box of pasta
1.5 cups cheddar, grated
fresh mozzarella, 1/4 of a ball
parm, grated to taste
salt & pepper to taste
rosemary & sage to liking
balsamic vinegar
Brown meat & garlic in balsamic vinegar, add in stewed tomatoes. Reduce. Add in half pasta sauce, salt, pepper & herbs. Reduce again. Bowl pasta. Add pasta to meat sauce. Poor in the rest of pasta sauce. Add cheese. Enjoy.

Side dish/dessert: Honey Baked Bananas (not pictured b/c baked bananas do not look pretty but are tasty):
5 bananas
1.5 tbsp butter
2 tbsp OJ
1/3 cup honey
Melt butter, mix in OJ & honey. Cut bananas lengthwise and put in oven-safe dish. Pour honey mixture over. Bake at 350 for 20ish minutes, turning them once or twice.

2 responses to “And they all look just the same

  1. I do a similar thing, cooking something on Sunday to eat over the rest of the week.

    The baked banana recipe sounds delicious!

    • If you don’t get tired of eating the same foods, cooking on Sunday is a great way to do it.

      The baked bananas are A+ and would also be great over a little ice cream or with creme fraiche. oooh or maybe with some homemade caramel. Clearly I’m going to have to bake bananas more often!

Leave a Reply

