SC Style BBQ Chicken & Rice



SC Style BBQ Chicken & Rice, originally uploaded by Ash Crowe.

I’ve been very busy lately, unexpectedly. And that, combined with the 5 inches of snow this weekend, mean that this is a week for comfort food. As someone who grew up in South Carolina, comfort food means SC-style (mustard based) BBQ chicken over rice.

I once had a recipe for this, I think I once even wrote out the recipe for my mom. But that was years ago, I make it by heart now. If I had to guess I’d say this comes close to the recipe for SC-style mustard sauce:
1.5 cups yellow mustard
3 tbsp spicy honey mustard
.25 cups honey (sourwood works best)
2 tbsp molasses
3 tbsp cider vinegar
a few diced roasted jalapenos
pinch of salt
couple tbsp of fresh cracked pepper
a few shakes of chiptole hot sauce, a few shakes of regular hot sauce, maybe a little chili powder.

Eh, yeah, that’ll get you close. If you don’t want to make your own, StickyFingers makes a good one.

Leave a Reply

