Inky Skulls, 1/16/12

I’m not quiet about my preference for shows that start on time & run without any delays. (And if the show also happens to start early, say 8 or 7, all the better).

So, when I saw Monday’s Inky Skulls/Harvey Sue/Beloved Binge show promoted as a show that would start on time, move quick, and have short change overs between sets – I was sold.

Beloved Binge started promptly at 9 with their charming duo.

Inky Skulls, Pinhook, Durham NC, 1/16/12

Inky Skulls were already set up in the back of the room, so it was just a few quick minutes before they started their set. I was delighted to shoot a band playing in a different part of Pinhook’s space and impressed with the music as well.

Harvey Sue, Pinhook, Durham NC, 1/16/12

Harvey Sue closed out the night by starting with two on the Pinhook’s piano – which I don’t see played nearly often enough.

Harvey Sue, Pinhook, Durham NC, 1/16/12

Before moving to the stage for the rest of the set. I hadn’t had the chance to see Harvey Sue, the one-person band side project of Midtown Dickens’ Catherine Edgerton, yet and it was great to hear the solo songs.

All and all a delightful night of music that, as advertised: was charming, started on time, with little downtime between bands. We could all use more shows like this, particularly on Mondays.

full photo set here

Leave a comment