Racing the Cure, Kings, 3/23/12

Across all 4 venues on the night of 3/23/12 the Racing the Cure benefit raised $45K. It’s a stunning amount.

The music was as awesome as the cause. We were installed at Kings all night (got to Kings at 5P to line up, in fact) so we missed out on the other venues, but I hear they were all wonderful.

Kings was just a treat and an amazing night.

Jack the Radio started the night off and did a really good job getting the crowd moving.

Schooner, Racing the Cure, Kings, Raleigh NC, 03/23/12

Schooner followed and matched the energy in the room with a very energetic set – maybe it’s just because I’ve seen more Organos shows than Schooner shows lately, but I’d forgotten how much of a rock band Schooner is. Friday night was a great reminder.

Filthybird, Racing the Cure, Kings, Raleigh NC, 03/23/12

Filthybird followed with a beautiful set.

The Old Ceremony, Racing the Cure, Kings, Raleigh NC, 03/23/12

The Old Ceremony turned back up the volume with a great set. They promised a new album in June. It’ll be great to finally have the newer songs on an album.

The Avett Brothers, Racing the Cure, Kings, Raleigh NC, 03/23/12

Then, finally, 7 hours after we got to Kings, The Avett Brothers took the stage. Y’all know I don’t consider myself a great writer about music, and even on my best day I don’t think I could sum up what this show meant for me and the friends I was with. This show, and the Cradle show a year and a half ago, are the two Avetts shows I’ll always remember.

This was the set list:
Murder in the City
When I Drink
Denouncing November Blue
January Wedding
Cigarettes and Whiskey
Look Up Look Down that Lonesome Road
I Killed Sally’s Lover
Go to Sleep
In the Curve
At the Beach
Just a Closer Walk with Thee

I cried straight through “When I Drink.” I called my mom and let her listen along during “Just a Closer Walk with Thee” (yes, at one in the morning, my mom is awesome). And for all the rest I sang and danced and enjoyed.

It was a delight.

The Avett Brothers, Racing the Cure, Kings, Raleigh NC, 03/23/12

Perfect.

full photo set

Leave a Reply

